bagtransformation











{April 5, 2012}   Do You Have Determination?

Today I was visiting some of my follower’s blogs and came across this blog that talked about how she and her dad did the New York Half Marathon.  To say it inspired me would be a complete understatement.  I couldn’t get it out of my mind for the rest of the day!

Think about the last goal you set for yourself. *waits a few minutes to allow you to think….stop reading and think!*  🙂

Answer these three questions:

  1. Did you reach your goal?
  2. Did you reach it on time (did you set a time limit for achieving it)?
  3. What resources did you utilize in order to accomplish your goal?

If you answered yes to the first two, chances are you have an answer for #3, too.  Let me explain.

In my experiences, when I have attempted to reach a goal on my own, I fell short. As a teen I used to run competitively.  I had amazing race times, would get personal records and enjoyed every minute of it.  But guess what, the races I ran were team races.  Cross country, 4x800m, 4x1600m.  I did do the regular 1600 and 800, too, but guess what?  My score went to help the team!

As an adult and after having my three kids, I have tried several times to shed the baby weight and to get back into my training.  I thought it would be easy.  I thought it would be a breeze.  And it would be if I had accountability and someone other than my eight year old son, though he does really well at kicking my butt out there.  I know myself well enough to know that I need a well thought out plan of action, and then someone to hold my feet to the floor.  Allow me to share with you how I plan to shed the 20 pounds that are sticking with me and to get back on my training regiment.

Goal: In November I want do the color run in Nashville.

How will I achieve it?

  1. As soon as I found out about this race, I posted on Facebook that I was looking for people who were interested in doing the race with me. There were around 10 people who said they would do it also.  One of which is coming all the way from Kansas to run it with me!  GO BECCA!
  2. I downloaded MapMyRun to my Android phone and got things set up on my desktop so I could track my runs.  How often, how far, how many calories burned, food intake, etc etc etc. I also decided to make my profile public so I could share my workouts with my friends.  One of them rides bikes competitively and uses MapMyRide so she knows how the system works.  Another friend of mine whom I run with on occasion has the program on her Android phone as well.
  3. I have asked my son to train and run it with me as well.  Trust me, he is more than happy to get out there and run 3 times a day if I were up for it.  He’s always asking when our next run is.
  4. Now, my blog!  You all know what I’m doing so I give you permission to ask me about how it’s going.
  5. I have thought about asking people to take pictures of me around town if they catch me walking during my workouts and then posting them to my wall, but I’m not sure if people would actually do it or not.  But I have thought about it!

So that’s what I have so far.  I know that if I am training and eating the way I am supposed to be, the weight will come off or my inches will decrease on their own.  I’m not worried too much about that aspect of things.

Feel free to comment with you experiences with such situations.  Lend a helping hand, so to speak if you know of something that would help.  Offer encouragement.  And most important of all, HOLD ME ACCOUNTABLE!

Cheers,

Andrea

I forgot to mention, my vices are as follows:
Oreos, fries, coffee with too much sugar….Starbucks… Oh and sleep. I cannot seem to get my butt up out of bed before the kids wake.



healthdemystified says:

Amen, sister. It’s all about leveraging your strengths and your resources. Well put! btw I used to be a cross country runner as well! -Eric



Yea? What was the distance when you were involved? For us, women did 2 miles, men did 5k.



healthdemystified says:

I did 5k. For spring track, my main event was the 1 mile 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
